Sticky Nickel Blog



Sprinkles and Sighs

I open the door to release the dogs and a breeze of indescribable sweetness brushes against my face. The early morning sky is overcast and the air smells of raindrops and open plains. I step outside into the cool air wearing only my nightgown and feel delicious chills ripple up and down my spine.

It feels like spring.

Today, I have made good decisions. I have eaten well and enjoyed what I have eaten. I exercised on my lunch break and let the elliptical trainer help me sweat out some of my guilt.

I will go home and take my sweet, cooped-up puppies for a walk in the sprinkling rain, smiling at the happy waving of their tails as they trot and explore.

I will take a hot bath with a trashy romance novel and a glass of red wine.

I will put on my comfy “after 5’s” and curl up on the couch to watch a movie, two happily exhausted dogs in my lap.

I will munch on a thin crust veggie pizza as I sip on my second glance of wine.

I will leave the blinds open so I can watch as the thunderstorms come rolling up over the plains.

I will fall into bed, later than I should, pleasantly exhausted and happy with my day.

Today, I am feeling closer to that happy girl of last summer. All it takes is a little motivation to remember the things in life that are truly important, like health, love and time for onesself.

I hope your evening is as good as mine, Reader.


Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * secretlifeofjane says:

    Love this. Thank you.

    | Reply Posted 14 years, 1 month ago


Leave a comment